Awards & Annual Day - 2023

January 28, 2023

The 33rd Awards and Annual Day of Manipal College of Nursing (MCON), Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Manipal was held on Friday, 27th January 2023 at the Dr. TMA Pai Auditorium, Third Floor, KMC, MAHE, Manipal. 

“To come up with the profession, we need to follow three things: Respect elders, have compassion, and help each other while working in a team to receive cooperation and be willing to work.” said the Chief Guest Dr. Nanthini Subbiah, Professor, Department of Community Health Administration, National Institute of Health and Family Welfare, Munirka, New Delhi.  Advising the younger generation, she said “Research is very essential for the growth of any profession. Evidence-based interventions are to be implemented to provide optimal quality care. We all must feel proud for being a nurse.” She inspired the young nurses by sharing her personal experiences. Continuing her talk, she appreciated MAHE and MCON for providing ample opportunities to students for their academic advancement. She also motivated the students to utilize the enormous resources available within the campus. 

Prof. Prasanna Kumar, Registrar, Karnataka State Nursing Council, Principal, Government College of Nursing, Bengaluru, Assistant Director (Training), Department of Medical Education, Karnataka was the Guest of Honor.  He congratulated the awardees and said students studying in this prestigious institution are really blessed and they should use the resources as well as the opportunities available to develop competencies and come out as highly skilled nursing professionals. He emphasized the importance of quality care and stressed on the need to develop competencies in leadership. He advised the students to prepare themselves to face the challenges of the future and build a strong resilient healthcare system. He encouraged the students to be brand ambassadors and carry the legacy of the institution, wherever they go. He also said one should be proud to be a nurse and be optimistic always.

Dr. P Giridhar Kini, Registrar, MAHE, Manipal, in his presidential address said  Annual day is the culmination of the hard work of the past one year that reflects the events and gives hope to do better in the next year. He further said, nursing is a profession, where nurses are in direct contact with the patients. Every day is a new day to learn and to improve oneself to give the best to society. He also added that he is proud of the fact that MCON is doing excellent in research as well as in teaching and urged the students to remember their alma mater always and create awareness of their profession wherever they go.   

Meritorious students of BSc, PBBSc, MSc, Nurse Practitioner in Critical Care, and PhD as well as the faculty members were awarded for their achievements.  

Dr. Elsa Sanatombi Devi, Professor at MCON, MAHE was felicitated for being the recipient of the prestigious National Florence Nightingale Award 2021, awarded to her by the President of India - Smt. Droupadi Murmu on 7th November 2022 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. She was also the recipient of the most accomplished faculty award. 

Ms. Swidal Mendonca, BSc Nursing batch of 2018 - 22 was awarded the Best outgoing student and Ms. Vinita Rosa Monis was the first rank holder in B.Sc Nursing outgoing batch 2022.

Mrs. Prima J J D’Souza, Assistant Professor, Department of Fundamentals of Nursing and Mrs. Sheela Shetty, Assistant Professor – Senior Scale, Department of Child Health Nursing, MCON, Manipal received the Good Teacher Awards for the academic year 2021-22. 

Dr. Tessy Treesa Jose, Associate Dean and Professor, Department of Psychiatric (Mental Health) Nursing, MCON, MAHE, Manipal, welcomed the gathering and introduced the Chief Guest and the Guest of Honor. Dr. Judith A Noronha, Dean, MCON, MAHE, Manipal presented the Annual report of the college. Mr. Sohan Lawrence Fernandes, President of the Student Nurses Association (SNA) of MCON, MAHE, Manipal presented the annual SNA report. Mrs. Anusuya V Prabhu, Assistant Professor – Senior Scale and convener of the Annual Day proposed the vote of thanks. Mrs. Savitha Prabhu, Assistant Professor Senior Scale, compered the formal program.  

The formal function was followed by a captivating multicultural entertainment program by the students and faculty members of the college.