Global Symposium Series – 12 on ‘Child Abuse and Neglect: Policy, Norms and Programmatic Strategies’ followed by Valedictory program

Global Symposium Series –12 on ‘Child Abuse and Neglect: Policy, Norms and Programmatic Strategies’ was organized by Team-Reach and Internationalization of Manipal College of Nursing, MAHE, Manipal on November 23, 2021, from 4.30 pm to 5.00 pm.

The resource person for the symposium was Dr Vinod C Nayak, Professor, Department of Forensic Medicine, KMC, MAHE, Manipal, discussed the Policy, Norms and Programmatic Strategies on Child Abuse and Neglect. He spoke extensively on different aspects of child abuse and the legal provisions available to tackle the issue.

Mrs Sweety J Fernandes, Assistant Professor, Dept. of OBG Nursing, moderated the session and Dr Sangeetha Priyadarshini. Asst. Professor, Dept. of Child Health Nursing, managed the event. A total of 58 professionals participated from across the globe in this virtual symposium.

Followed by this, of the series, the valedictory program was held at 5 pm. Prof. M Ramesh, Founder Director, Chaithanya Medical Foundation, Bengaluru, the Chief Guest of the valedictory program briefed on the importance of collaborative healthcare practices and spoke on the series of sessions taken during the symposium and briefed on how this information will help to generate good practices for quality care. He appreciated the team for their effort in carrying out the symposium series.

Dr Raghu AR, Director, International Collaborations, MAHE, Manipal and the Guest of Honor for the function, in his closing remark, emphasized how the Nursing fraternity is contributing their service to the health care team.

Dr Judith Angelitta Noronha, Dean, MCON, MAHE, Manipal welcomed the Guests and the participants. She also acknowledged the efforts of Dr Elsa Sanatombi Devi and the team in organising this symposium.

Dr Elsa Sanatombi Devi, Pillar Head of Team Expanding Reach and internationalization put forth the symposium report. She further thanked all the resource persons and the whole team for their support. Dr Soumya Christabel, Assistant Professor delivered the vote of thanks and Mrs Prima J J D’Souza, Assistant Professor was the Master of Ceremony for the programme.