The Continuing Nursing Education committee of Manipal College of Nursing Manipal, MU organized Faculty Development Program 2017 on 25th & 26th July, 2017.

July 31, 2017

The chief guest Dr Poornima Baliga B, Pro Vice-chancellor- Health sciences and Dean KMC, Manipal appreciated the efforts taken by the institution in organizing the kind of events which helps in the holistic growth of an employee. In her inaugural speech, she emphasized on importance of outcome based learning, a future perspective and also shared her views on approaching clients in a different way using complementary and alternative therapies. The first session of the day was on overview of Nursing Process by Mr. Jomon C.U, Lecturer from Department of Fundamentals of Nursing MCON, Manipal Academy of Higher Education.  

The Research Core Committee of MCON Manipal facilitated various sessions like applying for grants by Mrs Manjula, Asst Professor, Department of Community Health Nursing, applying for travel scholarships by Mrs Sulochana, Associate Professor, Department of Fundamentals of Nursing, writing a scientific paper by Dr. Baby S Nayak, Professor, Department of Child Health Nursing and Dr. Sonia R B D’Souza, Associate Professor, Department of OBG Nursing followed by a session by Mrs. Sheeba Pakkan, Bibliometrician from Directorate of Research, MU on Researchers Visibility.
On 26th July, 2017, Member Secretary of Ethics Committee of KH Manipal Dr Stanley Mathew and Dr. Smitha Shenoy briefed about the issues related to IEC and emphasized about the monitoring process of the ongoing and completed projects. A session on “Effective ways to give feedback” was taken by Dr Barathi S Subramanian, Professor, Department of Physiology, MMMC Manipal. The afternoon session was taken by a versatile resource person Dr G. Robert Clive, Professor, Department of Social Sciences, Crossland College Bramhavar, Udupi on academic tenacity. Each department presented research analysis of the last academic year and proposal for the next academic year. A total 75 faculty attended the FDP 2017.