February 16, 2024

The 34th Awards and Annual Day of Manipal College of Nursing (MCON), Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Manipal was held on Friday, February 16, 2024, at Dr TMA Pai Auditorium, MAHE, Manipal.

The chief guest of the day, Dr. Deepika Cecil Khakha, Nursing Advisor, Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS), Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India, emphasized that any educational institution thrives on four pillars: diligence, perseverance, passion, and resourcefulness, which help to achieve impressive milestones and earn reputable standing. She highlighted the importance of core essentials of the nursing profession like compassion, professionalism, and teamwork, emphasizing resilience, adaptability, and leadership. She called on the graduates to celebrate each other’s achievements and maintain an attitude of gratitude. In her address, she told students to be ambassadors of quality and urged them to prioritize their physical and mental well-being alongside their academics, so they can contribute effectively to nation-building.

Dr. Sharath Kumar Rao K, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Health Sciences, MAHE, Manipal, in his presidential address, appreciated the remarkable contribution made by Manipal College of Nursing in nursing education, clinical practice, and research, and for achieving the prestigious Number 1 ranking conferred by the Education World. He acknowledged and praised MCON for this remarkable feat and called on MCON to face further challenges to maintain the top position in the years to come. He also highlighted the significance of practical skills and academic knowledge in healthcare transformation, noting that this contributes to the global recognition and acceptance of the institution's graduates. Finally, he extended heartfelt congratulations to all award winners for their outstanding contributions.

Meritorious students across the various academic programs were recognized for their outstanding achievements. Ms Maitrayee Sen, from the BSc Nursing batch of 2019–2023, was awarded the ‘Best Outgoing Student’, while she and Ms Neha Noronha, secured the first rank in the BSc Nursing outgoing batch of 2023. In recognition of their exemplary teaching, Mr. Anil Raj, Assistant Professor, and Mrs. Manjula, Assistant Professor, faculty members of MCON, Manipal, received the Good Teacher Awards for the academic year 2022–23. Mr. Renjulal Yashodharan was the recipient of the Most Accomplished Faculty Award for the year 2023.

Dr. Tessy Treesa Jose, Associate Dean and Professor, Department of Psychiatric (Mental Health) Nursing, MCON, MAHE, Manipal, extended a warm welcome and introduced the Chief Guest and the Guest of Honor. Dr. Judith A Noronha, Dean, MCON, MAHE, Manipal, presented the annual report of the college, highlighting the various academic, research, and extracurricular activities undertaken by MCON throughout the year. Mr. Nikhil Castelino, President of the Student Nurses Association (SNA) of MCON, MAHE, and Manipal, presented the annual SNA report, showcasing the active participation and contributions of the student body.

Mrs. Soumya Christabel, convener of the Annual Day, proposed the vote of thanks, expressing gratitude to organizers, and all attendees for their support and contribution to the success of the event.

Mrs. Mitchelle Shilpa Lewis compered the formal program, guiding the audience through the proceedings of the program.

The formal function concluded with a captivating multicultural entertainment program presented by the talented students and faculty members of the college, celebrating the diversity in life and culture, and showcasing the creativity of the MCON community.