Manipal GoK Bioincubator-BioNEST organized Manipal BioPharma Hackathon 2023

October 27, 2023


Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences in association with Manipal-GoK Bioincubator-BioNEST, its Student Entrepreneurship Cell and other Knowledge partners, organized MANIPAL BIOPHARMA HACKATHON 2023 in the month of October 2023.  Manipal BioPharma Hackathon 2023 wass designed with the vision of promoting student innovations, Start-Up creation, and encouraging critical thinking to address critical and unsolved needs of the Pharma/BioPharma domain. Manipal - Government of Karnataka Bioincubator, is established with support of Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Government of Karnataka and DBT’s BIRAC.  The event finale was conducted on 27 October 2023, 09:30 AM onwards. The Jury comprised of experts in domains like BioPharma/Pharma, Business, Innovation and Commercialization. All the jury members were provided with a detailed and mechanistic overview, by the CEO Dr Manesh Thomas, for the assessment of the all the proposals submitted by the participating teams in Manipal Biopharma Hackathon 2023.

The proposals submitted by the participating teams had been assessed on various parameters such as understanding of the problem statement, novelty, technicality, commercial potential and presentation performance. The initial assessment round occurred in an online parallel session of three Jury sets by Jury A, Jury B & Jury C assessing 14, 15, & 15 teams, respectively. The experts deliberated on aspects such as proof of principle, innovation involved, feasibility and commercial potential of the pitched ideas.

Six teams such as Team Chemihackers, Team JSS ooty, Team BioXplorers, Team Recall, Team Biopharma Beacons, Team Covalent Quartet were shortlisted with three of them being nominated for special acknowledgement and three were selected for the prizes.

Special Acknowledgement:

1.    Team Recall: Ms Pranali Waghode, Ms Sahana Ghosh, Ms Vaidehi Gawde, Mr Aayush Badlani, Mentor: Dr S N Koteswara Rao G; Institute: SPPSPTM NMIMS- Mumbai

2.    Team Biopharma Beacons: Ms Prima Yangzi Mishra (MCBR), Mr Kapileshwar Rana (MIT), Lakshya Pratap Monga (KMC), Bikash Patra (KMC)

3.    Team Covalent Quartet: Ms Aishwarya Katyan, Ms Esha Phalke, Mr Snehashish Roy Mr Karanpreet Singh; Institute PES University


First Prize: Team Chemihackers

Team Chemihahckers: Ms Tanvi Ambekar, Mr Aarya Deval, Mr Megh Pravin Vithalkar, Ms Akanksha Dessai; Mentor Dr Vijaya Bhaskar K; Institute: MCOPS, MAHE

Second Prize: Team JSS Ooty

Team JSS Ooty: Mr Ashwin Ravichandran, Mr Arjun Raj BK, Mr Jalakh Bhat, Mentor: Dr Raman Suresh Kumar; Institute: JSS college of Pharmacy, Ooty

Third Prize: Team BioXplorers

Team BioXplorers: Ms Japman Kaur, Mr. Annamalai Rama, Mr Jashan Puri, Ms SHreeya Warrier, Ms Anjana A K; Institute: MCOPS, MAHE.