Curtains come down on CPCON-2016 with positive actions planned for development of Pharmacy Practice

January 12, 2016

Evolving role of clinical pharmacist in multidisciplinary healthcare settings- a two day conference organised by Department of Pharmacy Practice, Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MCOPS), Manipal Academy of Higher Education concluded with an inclusive proposal for a positive action for Pharmacy Practice in India. The conference, with an overwhelming 700 participants, nearly 200 scientific presentations and 15 scientific sessions was also preceded by a two day pre-conference workshop on “Clinical skills and research methodology in Pharmacy Practice”. Dr Narayana Sabhahit, Registrar, Manipal Academy of Higher Education inaugurated the function by lighting the ceremonial lamp and delivering an inspirational inaugural address. Dr. MK Unnikrishnan, Head of the Department, Pharmacy Practice, MCOPS delivered the welcome note. Dr. N.Udupa (Research Director, Manipal Academy of Higher Education) and Dr Mallikarjuna Rao (Principal, MCOPS) presided over the inaugural session. Dr Andrew Davey and Dr Sohil Ahmed Khan of Griffith University, Australia, Dr Johnson George from Monash University, Australia, and Dr Rahul Khanna from University of Mississippi, USA were key speakers from overseas. Mr Chandrasekaran (Manipal Hospital, Bangalore), Dr Veerendra Chandrella (KMCH, Coimbatore), Dr Gabriel Rodrigues (KMC, Manipal), Mr Manish Kadam (TCS, Pune), Dr Mohamed Hisham (KMCH, Coimbatore) and Mr Suraj Madhavan (Paraxel International, Bangalore) presented the emerging trends in India. Dr Surulivel Rajan (Dept. of Pharmacy Practice, MCOPS), along with his students, presented a special session on Positive action Plan for Pharmacy Practice with the launching of an online student-driven web – forum called “PAFPP”( Dr Anam Sohail (A. J. Hospital and Research Center, Mangalore) and Dr Mohammed Kazim Sheriff (Al-Ameen College of Pharmacy, Bangalore) won the first and second prize for oral presentations respectively. Ms Shambavi Ravichandar (PSG College of Pharmacy, Coimbatore) and Mr Mammen Paul (Al- Shifa college of Pharmacy, Malappuram) won the first and second prize for poster presentations. Ms Siddhi Pramod Umarje (Poona College of Pharmacy, Pune) won the prize for the best case report. Dr. V Rajesh (Dept. of Pharmacy Practice, MCOPS) proposed a vote of thanks, acknowledging the support and cooperation of everybody who brought success to the CPCON-2016